Tags

, , , , , , , ,

 

054

Letter 16

March 3rd 1992

‘Ello!  I got your letter today, along with postcards from T.G and S.L, who, in true sending postcard fashion, both arrived back last Saturday!

I don’t know about watches not being around (or a square) but what about bourbon biscuits! Surely they’re an anachronism?!

In reply to yer letter the boyz in Burger King were 16? 17? 18? I dunno! And I’ve been back since then! Once on Sat ‘avec’ R.D and K.R and today ‘con’ K.R (where I were served by the one and only Chesney Hawkes – I mean Delme) But at lunchtime today (Oh! Must explain for some stooped reason we had ze day off) when K.R and I went to BCOT at lunch I saw one of the boyz for about 2 milliseconds…

Mary Whitehouse Experience was okay, a bit centered on Edward Scissorhands and Barry White, but, nevertheless, still rather amusing.

A question:  Next time yous in The Birthday Company, can you get me some nice stickers? (e.g. fruit, flowers, animals etc) coz me French pen pal sent me a Naf-Naf sticker and she ‘raved on’ about the stickers I had bunged on me letter saying: “en France nouse n’en avons pas des comme cela” soooo if ye get a few (say 5 or 6) bung ‘em in next letter wi’t’receipt and I’ll either send you t’money or give it to you when I next see you, okay?

These are the last few sheets of that charming recycled set that old Freed-bag got us, what a shame! I shall have to get meself some more!

What colour inks are in’t’ “jungle” ink pad?  Now I boast a collection of 9 shades of ink!  Beats your measly 6 shades into a cocked hat! And my stamps work – nyah nyah! Maybe t’Biffday company will get some more in, due to popular demand.

7.02pm, spoze I’d better go, get a drink, do some English and Algebra, a minute piece of Physics and save up some more trivia to bung in this letter.

See ya!

5/3/92 7.51pm

Eye oop! This is, without a doubt, the most snoozeworthy letter I’ve ever written 2 u, still I ‘spose you won’t mind.

Just watched ‘Eastenders’ (really borin’) a pooooo-errrr substitute for Vic Reeves is on later called ‘The Big One’ with Mike McShane and Sandi Toksvig from  ‘Whose Line is it Anyway’  I hope its witty but I bet its shitty! Also, ‘Only Fools and Horses’ is on laters.

Wayyyyyy heeeyyyy TOTTENHAM! I have to get me scarf down for Saturday’s match, yeeeahhhhh!

S.M got me some really sweet stickers from Germany, one sheet of puppies and one sheet of other animals, plus a pair of parrot earrings.

I have 3 new penpals (Not more??? I hear you cry) I guess I’d better write to ‘em, what a bore! I guess I’d better construct some Italian to write to the Italian one, Marco.

Uh-oh! Dot has just spied Ricky & Sam’s rave (Eastenders) and now Etta is parading over, excitement.

Sorry that this is a crap letter!

Bye, Love Rachel

COMMENTARY:

Written, as alluded to earlier, in ‘crappy’ recycled note paper. The envelope claims to include ‘Free! One letter written on top quality paper’.  Can’t believe I was on a mission to see the guys from Burger King again?  Unrequited love.

Brief nod to Tottenham.  I was really into football in this era.  Mainly due to Gary Lineker.

I still love stationery and stickers now, but have less cause to use them.  Shame.

Letter 17

15th March 1992

Dear A,

‘Ello! Thanks for t’letter.  I suppose the paper is okay, a bit tacky! (I’m talking about the princess stuff in case you didn’t gather!)

You ask how I am coping without Vic Reeves on’t’telly?  Not v.well I’m afraid, I couldn’t cope with the gaps on a Tuesday afternoon and a Thursday evening so have joined a ‘TAOV’ support group (The Absence Of Vic) and was doing jolly well until your letter arrived, caliming it was from him !  I had palpitations and was in a cold sweat! Don’t ever do that to me again!

Well I’ve had a fairly busy week.  Last Saturday of course was the football, incase you didn’t know we lost 1-3 and Gary Lineker only played for 17 minutes! Also last Saturday at T.G’s they got the video out of Green Card, which I enjoyed just as much the 2nd time as I did the 1st (only this time there was no frozen yoghurts dropped down people’s shirts!)

Got back on Sunday and had to homework, ditto for Mon, Tue and Weds.

On Thursday; 2 coach loads of mostly 4th, some 3rd and some 5th years went to see ‘Macbeth’ in Southampton, yeh well what an educational experience!  We arrived too early and had to wait around by the front of the theatre, then were all accosted by a loony-tramp! He was wandering about by the front of the theatre mumbling ‘To be or not to be…’ everyone was hysterical with laughter, even the teachers! When we finally were allowed in everyone (plus a lot of other schools) surged in a mass bundle up steps, down steps, here’n’there in an attempt to find our seats, when we did find them we had half an hour to wait for the main event.  It started off with loud gun shots, naturally everyone over-reacted with screams and yells and swearwords!

Hmmmm, from 7.30-10 pm (no interval) we were sat bored, pissed off and much amused by a modernised version of Macbeth that would have had ol’Shaky turning in his grave! (N.B the best bits of the play were: M.M coming back from the loo and falling over, D.C making Mr Cadbury’s Parrot noises and the fruit Polos).

When it ended we all charged and pushed our way out, into a seething mass of schoolkids, usherettes, teachers and the general public, only to be met by about 3 million different coaches!  When we found ours we sat back, bored and knackered and watched the antics of the tramp (who was chucking his hat about) and then he appeared by our coach blowing everyone kisses.

We arrived back about 11.15pm totally ‘shagged out’ (oooh errr).  Never again!

On Friday I had to go to town after school avec K.R and S.H to get presents for Kelly and Kelly, whose party we attended last night.

1.48pm, I’ll write laters as I’m seeing K.R soon.

Still 15/3/92

6.29pm

Hiyah!  Yesterday we had to chaperone teams for the National school teams netball tournament, which for some reason, out of all the schools in England, was held at Ricky Aldy.  It was a good doss if nowt else.

Kelly and Kelly’s party was total shit!  But a good laugh.  The music was really naff: Chesney, NKOTB, stuff from 1986 etc.

I’m now eagerly awaiting a cheese and tomato Pot Noodle and chocolate birthday cake to munch/slurp while viewing ‘You’ve Been Framed’.

Change of colour methinks – Anyway, I though today ‘I’ll write some letters’.  Then couldn’t remember any French or Italian.

Nothing interesting happening this week except I’ve got another day off Friday.  I’m going to the cinema to see ‘Father of the Bride’ with Steve Martin and Kieran Maculkin (yes celebrities are coming too).

I’m in such a frenzy to write this letter me writings gone all MAD!
‘Ows Ballroom Dancing going?  And how are the many mongs at BCHE? Has one half of the Dippy Duo got himself a new mug?  Yes his other one was gross and acnified.

Oh well.  Boring paper. Boring Letter.

Love Rachel x

COMMENTARY:

Written on lined white paper in many different biros in a peach envelope that alleged to include 30mg pure fresh air.

Gosh, all go that week.  Football match, a party, Shakespeare AND a netball thing.

Letter 18

25/3/92

Dear A,

Hiya Mong! Thanx 4 t’letter!  Also this week I had a letter from an Italian male mong, extremely mongish.  He said he likes to paint vests/t-shirts and has said that I the future he will send me one!? One can just visualise this grubby grey vest with some way out design on it!!!

I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned it in previous correspondence but lately every night at 6,7,8 or 9pm K.R and I ‘flash lights’ to each other, so I’ve flashed Mum and Dad’s bedroom light on and off at her!

Now I’m supping a cuppa tea and watching ‘Only Fools and Horses’ : STICK A PHONEY IN YOUR BOG IN AND TAKE A FISHCAKE FROM THE BANK!!!

Last Friday we had a day of school so we went to see ‘Father of the Bride’ at t’cinema.  It were right good.  Maybe we can fit a visit to t’cinema during Easter?

Oh  nooooo, it’s all getting tricccckkkkkeeeeeeeeee!  By the way –  the Italian perfect tense is really easy when you get the hang of it:  Ho guardato la television and all that!

The German exchange arrived tonight. R.D has one.  She looks alright.  I’ll get to meet ‘em tomorrow.  Rave!

On Saturday I got £35 of clothes for £7 in Top Shop, a purple Levi’s T-shirt reduced from £15 to £5 and ‘Coppernob’ brown leggings reduced from £20 to £2! Lovely!

‘Neighbours’ has got increasingly crap lately.  N’est-ce-pas?  A third Lucy – possibly the worst yet – and Todd’s spiffy noooo hairdo.  Absolutely gorgeous!

Behold the delights of tomorrow’s lessons – Drama, HRF, Biology, Maths and double French.

Well England did well in the cricket.  Nemind.

A girl at Italian has told me all about Vic Reeves fan club she had planned to join ‘til she discovered it was £10, to me that doesn’t seem too steep a price to show my appreciation for Sir Victor Reeves.  She (the lucky tart) went to see him live last year!  Oooh, green with envy I am!

K.R is coming for tea (oooh how jolly) on Friday.  I’d better clean my cess pit of a boudoir before then.

Oh yeh! I’ve just remembered! You’re now the proud owner of a house in Bath.  When I come and doss down on the floor I plan to dance round the nearby cemetery during the ‘witching hour’ making all manner of spppooookkkkeeee noises.  Eeeeerrrie veeerrrryyyy eeeeerrrriiie!

Oh well I’d better go until tomorrow night! Bye! Ciao!

March 26th 1992

4.58pm

‘Ello! Speaking of ‘ello THAT Vicky Wood is on Fri April 3rd Channel 4. 11pm. Great!

By the way, ‘ow are you voting? I just had to mention ‘the election’ in this letter!

Just seen that crappy milk advert with the Squeeze song ‘Cool for Cats’ what a crappy advert with a good song!  Have you seen it?

Now Misty has just clambered onto me as he does whenever I wear black leggings, he’s now just trod on your letter and bent it all.  Stupid thing.

Still noticing the absence of Vic on a Thursday night.  Do you watch The Big One which is on instead? It’s rather good.

Anyway, write soon.

Love Rachel x

COMMENTARY:

Written on the most lurid neon paper that ever there was!

The alternative lyrics to the Only Fools theme tune was seriously what my Sister and I thought it was for many years.  Straight up.